In a first, PM Modi will issue Aadhaar-like property cards to villagers under Svamiva

In a historic movement to transform rural India and empower millions of Indians, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will today launch the physical distribution of Aadhaar-type property cards under the SVAMITVA program via video conference. Each card will be given a unique ID number similar to the Aadhaar card. This is the first time that an exercise of such magnitude involving the most modern technological means has been carried out for the benefit of millions of rural owners.

“A historic day for rural development! Join the program at 11am,” Prime Minister Modi said in a tweet.

The launch will allow approximately one million owners to download their property maps via the provided SMS link to their mobile phones. This would be followed by the physical distribution of property cards by the respective state governments. These beneficiaries come from 763 villages in six states, including Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Karnataka.

This decision will pave the way for the use of the property as a financial asset by the villagers to take out loans and other financial benefits.

The Prime Minister will also interact with some of the beneficiaries during the event. The Union Minister for Panchayati Raj will be present on the occasion. The program will start at 11 a.m.

Here’s everything you need to know about the ‘Swamiva Yojana’

  • Survey of Villages and Mapping with Improvised Technology in Village Areas (SVAMITVA) is a core sector program of the Ministry of Panchayati Raj.
  • The SVAMITVA program was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on National Panchayati Raj Day, April 24, 2020.
  • The program aims to provide the “registry of rights” to owners of village households in rural areas and issue property cards.
  • The program is being implemented across the country in a phased manner over a four-year period (2020-2024).
  • The program would eventually cover about 6.62 lakh villages in the country.
  • About 1 lakh villages in the states of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Karnataka, and some border villages in Punjab and Rajasthan, as well as the establishment of A network of Continuous Operating System (CORS) stations across Punjab and Rajasthan, are covered in the pilot phase (2020-21).
  • These six states have signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Survey of India for drone survey in rural areas and implementation of the program.
  • These states have finalized the format of the digital property map and the villages to be covered for the drone survey.
  • The states of Punjab and Rajasthan have signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Survey of India for the establishment of a CORS network to assist in future drone flight activities.
  • Different states have different nomenclature for property cards viz. “Property Title” in Haryana, “Rural Property Ownership Records (RPOR)” in Karnataka, “Adhikar Abhilekh” in Madhya Pradesh, “Sannad” in Maharashtra, “Svamiva Abhilekh” in Uttarakhand, “Gharauni in Uttar Pradesh.

To subscribe to Mint Bulletins

* Enter a valid email address

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our app now!!

Gerald R. Schneider